TITLE 10             PUBLIC SAFETY AND LAW ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 29     LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY

PART 7                 IN-SERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

 

10.29.7.1               ISSUING AGENCY:  - Department of Public Safety, New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy, 4491 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507.

[10.29.7.1 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.1 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.2               SCOPE:  All certified police officers in the state of New Mexico.

[10.29.7.2 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.2 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.3               STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Section 29-7-7.1 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994), Section 29-7-4 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994), Section 29-7-5 NMSA 1978, (Repl. Pamp. 1994)

[10.29.7.3 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.3 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.4               DURATION:  Permanent.

[10.29.7.4 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.4 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.5               EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 15, 2016, unless a different date is cited at the end of a section.

[10.29.7.5 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.5 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.6               OBJECTIVE:  The purpose of Part 7 is to establish in-service law enforcement training requirements for certified police officers and certified public safety telecommunicators.

[10.29.7.6 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.6 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.7               DEFINITIONS:

                A.            “Academy” means the New Mexico law enforcement academy.

                B.            “NHTSA” means the national highway traffic safety administration.

[10.29.7.7 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.7 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.8               2016-2017 IN-SERVICE TRAINING CYCLE FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS:

                A.            All New Mexico certified law enforcement officers shall receive a minimum of 40 hours of training bi-annually.

                                (1)           A minimum of four hours shall be in safe pursuit pursuant to Section 29-20-3 NMSA 1978.

                                (2)           A minimum of one hour shall be in domestic violence incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.1 NMSA1978.

                                (3)           A minimum of two hours shall be in the detection, investigation and reporting of a crime motivated by hate pursuant to Section 31-18B-5 NMSA 1978.

                                (4)           For all officers who may be involved in the arrest of driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenders as a normal part of their duties, four hours shall be in NHTSA approved standardized field sobriety testing (SFST) protocols or successful course completion of the NHTSA approved 16 hour advanced roadside impaired driving enforcement course.

                                (5)           A minimum of one hour shall be in ensuring child safety upon arrest pursuant to Section 29-7-7.3 NMSA 1978.

                                (6)           Four hours of academy approved day and night firearms training on agency approved weapons systems including, but not limited to, duty handgun, backup handgun, shotgun, and rifle.  No more than one hour training shall be classroom lecture.  A minimum of three hours training, divided equally between day and night training, and shall consist of practical exercises using live fire, Simmunitions®, Airsoft® or other firearms training systems.  Qualification testing may not be used as training to meet this requirement.

                                (7)           A minimum of two hours in child abuse incident training pursuant to Section 29-7-4.2 NMSA 1978.

                                (8)           A minimum of one hour shall be in missing persons and Amber alert training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.4 NMSA 1978.

                                (9)           A minimum of two hours shall be in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.5 NMSA 1978.

                                (10)         A minimum of one hour shall be in academy accredited sexual assault investigation training, which will have an automatic sunset clause ending this requirement on January 1, 2018.

                                (11)         A minimum of two hours shall be in legal update training to include changes in New Mexico state statutes and recent state and federal case law.

                                (12)         Remaining hours shall be in maintenance or advanced areas to meet the agencies specific needs.

                B.            Required training may be received through the following means.

                                (1)           The advanced training bureau will contract for course instruction at the regional training sites.

                                (2)           Where scheduling will allow, the New Mexico law enforcement academy will assign staff to instruct the course at the regional training sites.

                                (3)           Curriculum developed by the New Mexico law enforcement academy will be provided to individual agencies upon request for their own certified instructors to present to their officers, provided the instructor is qualified in the subject matter.

                                (4)           Individual agencies develop curriculum for review and approval (accreditation) by the academy which meets the criteria established by the board.

                C.            This four-pronged approach gives all agencies the flexibility they need to address individual training needs.  It also allows the board to implement a planned program of in-service training that is responsive to the changing demands placed upon law enforcement and the opportunity to have statewide consistency in certain critical areas.

                D.            Implementation is to begin on January 1, 2016.

                E.            Officers obtaining certification between, January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016 will be required to obtain one-half of the in-service training requirements.  Officers obtaining certification between, January 1, 2017, and December 31, 2017, will be required to meet the next two-year requirement which will go into effect on January 1, 2018.  This policy will apply in subsequent two-year cycles.  Officers transferring from one agency to another will carry with them the responsibility for in-service training.

[10.29.7.8 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.8 NMAC, 11/15/2016]

 

10.29.7.9               2016-2017 TRAINING CYCLE FOR TELECOMMUNICATORS:

                A.            All New Mexico certified telecommunicators shall receive a minimum of 20 hours of training bi-annually.

                                (1)           A minimum of two hours in academy accredited interaction with persons with mental impairments training pursuant to Section 29-7-7.5 NMSA 1978.

                                (2)           The remaining training may be in academy approved advanced and specialized training/education or any maintenance training area which is designed to improve upon or add to the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the telecommunicator.

                B.            Required training may be received through the following means.

                                (1)           The academy may arrange for course instruction at regional training sites.

                                (2)           Where scheduling will allow, the academy will assign staff to instruct the course at regional training sites.

                                (3)           Curriculum may be developed by the academy and provided to individual agencies for their own certified instructors to present to their telecommunicators, provided the instructor is qualified in the subject matter.

                                (4)           Individual agencies develop curriculum for review and approval (accreditation) by the academy which meets the criteria established by the board.

                C.            This four-pronged approach gives all agencies the flexibility they need to address individual training needs.  It also allows the board to implement a planned program of in-service training that is responsive to the changing demands placed upon telecommunicators and the opportunity to have statewide consistency in certain critical areas.

                D.            Implementation is to begin on January 1, 2016.

                E.            Telecommunicators obtaining certification between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016, will be required to obtain one-half of the in-service training requirement.  Telecommunicators obtaining certification between January 1, 2017, and December 31, 2017, will be required to meet the next two-year requirement which will go into effect on January 1, 2018.  This policy will apply in subsequent two-year cycles.  Telecommunicators transferring from one agency to another will carry with them the responsibility for in-service training.

[10.29.7.9 NMAC - Rp, 10.29.7.9 NMAC, 11/15/2016.]

 

HISTORY OF 10.29.7 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center and Archives under:  NMLEA Rule #C5, In-Service Training Requirements, filed 12-31-92; NMLEA Rule #C5, In-Service Training Requirements 1994 - 1995 Training Cycle, filed 11-15-93; NMLEA Rule #C5, In-Service Training Requirements 1994 - 1995 Training Cycle, filed 12-17-1993; NMLEA Rule #C5, In-Service Training Requirements - 1996-97 Training Cycle, filed 11-7-1995.

 

History of Repealed Material:

10.29.7 NMAC Law Enforcement Academy - In-Service Training Requirements, filed 7-1-2001 - Repealed effective 11/15/2016.